The County Commission consists of three County Commissioners elected from two districts equal in population as possible by natural geographic boundaries. The Presiding Commissioner is elected by the county at large, and the Associate Commissioners are elected from their respective districts. Both the Presiding and the Associate Commissioners serve four years per election.

steve hobbs

Steve Hobbs

Presiding Commissioner

tracy graham

Tracy Graham

Western District Commissioner

alan winders

Alan Winders

Eastern District Commissioner

About the Commission

The County Commission manages all aspects of county government not assigned by law to other elected officials. The Audrain County Commission is responsible for construction, maintenance and improvement of all buildings, roads, bridges, and equipment of the county and they grant easements over county roads. The Commission appoints Audrain County residents to serve on local service boards.

One of the Commissioners’ most important functions is budgetary. Budgets prepared for each of the various county offices must be approved by the Commission. It is the only body that can make decisions on behalf of all county government. Other elected county office holders, who are independently elected throughout the county, have authority in their functional areas. The other officers of the county are independently elected from the entire county.

The County Commission has the power and authority to acquire by purchase, lease or receive by donation any improved or unimproved real estate, and may also institute proceedings in the name of the County to condemn land or other property when agreement cannot be reached between the county and property owners for public purpose projects.

Although the Audrain County Commission administers most of the county business, it has little legislative authority. The Commission serves as the liaison for the county between other local units of government, regional bodies, state and federal agencies. The Missouri General Assembly is the county legislative body. This results in little policy-making authority for the County Commission.